EBOOK (Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian City) author Tristram Hunt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Building Jerusalem The Rise and Fall of the Victorian CityLived reality of Victorian cities but about the ideas informing the shape of the city and how people especially people of influence envisioned the city and what it meant to live in one Victorians really believed in the possibilities of urban life and the importance of maintaining or creating vibrant city spaces They didn t always succeed to put it mildly but they thought of cities as exciting places where reat things could happen places that fostered civic involvement and the healthy interchange of ideas That s a vision of the city we would do well to restore Stimulating and enjoyable a reat help in understanding the development of our major cities Issues concentrates too much on a few cities Manchester Birmingham to the exclusion of other provincial towns and cities and does not spend enough time on London far too hard on suburbs and new towns which is where most people live and significantly where they want to live This is less a history of Victorian cities than an intellectual history of Victorians relationship to modernity and industrialization of which of course cities were one important part It s rambling but rarely boringHunt begins with the dolorous statistics on life in early Victorian citie Tristram Hunt better known as Labour MP and sometimes Guardian "columnist offers a survey of conceptions of the city as it underwent rapid and seismic "offers a survey of conceptions of the city as it underwent rapid and seismic in the Victorian era This isn t a timeline history of industrialisation and urbanisation but an exploration of how both the elite and popular society understood the new urban bohemoths springing up across BritainThe space of a eneration saw the A Shark Never Sleeps: Wheeling and Dealing with the NFL's Most Ruthless Agent greatest shift ever in the way the British lived The new cities and their industries revolutionised how people worked and who they worked for where and how they lived and who they lived with how theyot around how and what they ate what ideas they were exposed to what opportunities they had for cultural enrichment and hedonistic pleasures and changes in nearly every other facet of lifeThese were massive disruptions to traditional notions of the family the were massive disruptions to traditional notions of the family the and the community and they raised very serious introspection about just what the changes meant for Britain Hunt takes us through what in very simplistic terms can be considered the nation s intellectual journey in its understanding of the new industrial cities the deep scepticism of anything urban and in particular the reactionary Young England movement which idealised rural Mideval England the modern scepticism of the slum journalists and fiction writers who euated density and industry with disease and sin the doctors do My Jihad: The True Story of An American Mujahid's Amazing Journey from Usama Bin Laden's Training Camps to Counterterrorism with the FBI and CIA gooders and campaigners informed by either Christian beliefs or a utilitarian commitment to alleviate suffering who tackled those problems the civic fathers who fought the sceptics by turning the city into an attractive and fulfilling place with communityroups and intellectual societies as well. Ived in cities and even as these pioneers confronted a frightening new way of life they produced an urban flowering that would influence the shape of cities for enerations to come Drawing on diaries newspapers and classic works of fiction Hunt shows how the Victorians translated their energy and ambition into realizing an astonishingly rand vision of the utopian city on a hill the new Jerusalem He surveys the reat civic creations from town halls to city suares sidewalks and even sewers to reveal a story of midd. ,


As public monuments and rand buildings and finally the institutionalisation of this civic pride with the emergence of Las Maravillosas Obras de Dios: Historias B�blicas Para La Familia genuinely localovernment which embraced an activism that improved housing BUILT TRANSPORT AND WASTE INFRASTRUCTURE AND transport and waste infrastructure and importantly laid down the foundations for councils which were a force for ood in peoples livesIt is through this intellectual journey that the British revamped their cities from the dirty unhealthy and over crowded anarchy of the early Victorian era into the clean rational and beautiful cities which beueathed the built environment still enjoy todayThe chapter cataloguing Joseph Chamberlain s transformation of Birmingham through his leadership on the council is especially inspiring This is not only a high point in the history but a high point in the book itself Hunt s discussion of Chamberlain is a well focused narrative which uses one man s story to illustrate a larger trend This engaging style is used throughout though not always to as clear an effectEven at their reatest Victorian cities were still dangerous and uneual places and the short sighted adoration of anything rural continues to infest British ideas about the right way to live But those of us dedicated to urbanism can t help but feel a pang of envy at the Victorian social ethic We only need compare the cheaply constructed shoeboxes we call public buildings with the sturdy The New Song: For the Sunday School, Societies of Christian Endeavor, and Other Religious Exercises (Classic Reprint) grand buildings the Victorians erected for their town halls and libraries For all their faults most Victorians loved their cities and were committed to making them better places We could use a dose of that civic pride today This marvelous history takes us through the low and high points of the development of the British cities of the 19th century The Industrial Revolutionreatly expanded the urban population but also brought with it poverty and dismal living conditions among the new underclass Hunt shows how individuals with a Catholic or Non Conformist background initiated urban reform on a broad scale that included public buildings city planning culture and social services It "is a fascinating story told with reat enthusiasm erudition and wit The "a fascinating story told with reat enthusiasm erudition and wit The is not afraid to make links to the present and provide lessons for to day and showing that the urban disturbances of 2011 have clear historical antecedents I think the title is a mistake a Arabian Challenge grabber for fans of William Blake and Monty Python but maybe a turn off for other prospective readers Which is too bad because the book is unusually lively for a 500 page history of English cities and how theyrew Lots foreign influences than I suspected on the architecture most intriguingly to me The political ups and downs of Gothic for instance You have to be ready to skip chunks about things you already know about or don t care about and linger over what is news to you and helps you see new connections A lot of interesting info never really went anywhere. Le class power and prosperity and the liberating mission of city life Vowing to emulate the city states of Renaissance Italy the Victorians worked to turn even the smokestacks of Manchester and Birmingham into sites of freedom and art And they succeeded until twentieth century decline transformed wealthy metropolises into dangerous inner cities An original history of proud cities and confident citizens Building Jerusalem depicts an unrivaled era that produced one of the reat urban civilizations of Western history.

Tristram Hunt ´ 5 review

Reading this book I wonder why Labour
have tristram hunt 
Tristram Hunt Shadow education and not fronting down Pickles and his crew so intent on destroying local overnmentA readable walk through of the ideas and people who shaped ideas of municipal overnment "in our big cities in the 19thC full of men in monocles building civic pride and tireless "our big cities in the 19thC full of men in monocles building civic pride and tireless against laissez faire management and the Shopocracy my new favourite history word all of whom wanted the cities to reflect the best values of Victorian BritainOf course they weren t perfect Concern for the poor was bottom of their list and they carried out Hausmann style bulldozing of the poor areas without any regard of where the poor would o when this was done without much soul searching hmm sounds familiarHunt makes a strong and passionate argument for defending local ILLERAMMA Kathalu government and restoring to it powersradually stripped from it in the last 40 years unless he s changed his ideas since he wrote this its a message that needs to be shouted much louder than it currently is Pulling together an extensive array of primary sources Building Jerusalem charts how the idea of the city developed throughout the Victorian era a truly fascinating and pertinent topic One of the very few criticisms is that when discussing the opposition to Joseph Chamberlain Hunt uite suddenly begins using the term conservative to describe Joseph Allday and his Economists who opposed municipal intervention Considering Hunt had defined conservatism and Toryism as essentially anti capitalist represented by Thomas Carlyle and John Ruskin for the first two conservatism and Toryism as essentially anti capitalist represented by Thomas Carlyle and John Ruskin for the first two of the book it is frustrating that he fails to explore this specific shift Nonetheless the eruditeness inherent in Hunt s writing enables him to move with fluidity from the past to contemporary issues thereby further impressing the ongoing importance of Victorian discourses concerning the city Considering its rave reviews I found this book rather disappointing Only those who enjoy reading history as a list of white businessmen politicians and the buildings they erected will find something for them in Building Jerusalem The tidbits of biography and historical detail nipped from primary sources are unfortunately too far between and the meandering structure demands much of the reader to et from oasis to oasis For the casual reader it s a bit lengthy and its message of the necessity of civic spirit for modern progress while optimistically driven is frought with difficulties considering the very limited historical view Hunt has here not to mention saturated in Hunt s own politics And historians can look elsewhere for eually comprehensive and critically presented histories of the Victorian city in Hunt s Whiggish style or on another shelf for a well rounded presentation of the Victorian city in all its facets rather than merely its politics and the top two per cent of its populace This isn t about the. From Manchester's deadly cotton works to London's literary salons a brilliant exploration of how the Victorians created the modern city Since Charles Dickens first described Coketown in Hard Times the nineteenth century city born of the industrial revolution has been a byword for deprivation pollution and criminality Yet as historian Tristram Hunt argues in this powerful new history the Coketowns of the 1800s were far than a monstrous landscape of factories and tenements By 1851 than half of Britain's population ,